8 weeks, 3 days

8 weeks, 3 days

8 weeks, 3 days. December 20, 2016.

Not related to being pregnant, just current ailment: My eyes are stinging like crazy. No matter what I do, I get lotion in my eyes and it stings for a while. And makes my eyes hurt. And this lotion has SPF 15 in it, which makes it sting even more. Ouch! Today is bad. I feel off balance with my glasses. I look forward to the day when I can get contacts again. I’m getting tired of glasses. It’s been over 2 years! Or like 2.5 years. Aye aye aye. But, right now, the stinging to stop would be most excellent. I guess I just have to let it get through tears. Fun.

Related to being pregnant: I can’t decide if I’m hungry or nauseous sometimes. Today I’m a little bit of both. Often when I’m really hungry I get nauseous, but it happens way more frequently now that I’m pregnant. Today I’m not feeling great. Of course, the tiredness and the stinging eyes are not helping. I couldn’t fall asleep last night. I wasn’t incredibly tired, but I should have been tired enough to sleep. And apparently I get restless around 4am, which then wakes up S. Sorry! At least now he knows why he’s consistently waking up at 4am. Usually I have to pee or I’m just fidgety with weird dreams. Last night some of the characters from “How I Met Your Mother” were in my dreams. We’ve been watching a lot of that show, apparently.

Oh man, I really want to be sleeping right now. I’m tired and don’t feel well. Blah. Bad day to not bring saltines. Ugh. Oh well, it’ll pass. I think. Unless morning sickness has decided to hit me at 8 weeks. Big fun.  I don’t have much to do so far today. And I get to leave early, at like 3:40 to make it to my 4pm acupuncture appointment. I’m glad to have acupuncture later today. It’s part therapy and part needles. It’ll help me get through this 10 day wait until the ultrasound appointment on the 30th (moved from the 29th so I can see my regular doctor). I’m going to try not to count too much this week, as it’s far away, but I’m sure next week after Christmas I’ll be counting again. A second ultrasound will be even more reassuring to show that baby raspberry is growing.

Random things: once in a while S will rub my belly. Last night he said “Papa’s here,” which was cute. I said, “You’ll have a third kid!” S says, “On the way to 8!” Hahahaha. Funny. He’s from a family of 8. I said we don’t have enough money for 8 kids, or a big enough house.  Our tiny condo will suit 1 baby, maybe 2 little kids, and that’s it. Then we’ll have to move. We’re referring to baby as whatever fruit he/she is that week. Last week blueberry, this week raspberry.

I’m looking forward to being able to share the news. My cousin is pregnant with her second baby. A good childhood friend is pregnant with her first baby. Both are due in May. I want to be able to say, “I’m pregnant, too! Due in July!” I know the time will come, so I’ll just be patient with our little secret for now. Besides, a few people know, and that’s been fun to share so far.

S is concerned I read too much on the scary internet. I do read a lot, but now I’m focusing on just the week by week, what’s going on with my pregnancy and body. It’s interesting! And I like connecting with a few bloggers who are also in the same boat. I think the more good baby vibes, the better. I like to look at #ivfsuccess photos on Instagram, because they make me smile.

If anyone is actually reading my ramblings, thanks! It’s really turning into free-writing, as I assumed it would. Free-writing is one of my favorite things to do, always has been.

One thought on “8 weeks, 3 days

  1. I also get the hungry/nauseous thing but I’m on steroids so it keeps the sickness down a bit at least! The wait for the next scan is so epic!! Good luck!! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

