9 weeks, 6 days

9 weeks, 6 days

9 weeks, 6 days. December 30, 2016

Good news! The ultrasound appointment went great. The heartbeat is a strong 170 and baby is on perfect track for growth. I could see moving arms and legs (two of each, hooray), and baby was moving around a lot. And the heartbeat was very strong. Baby looks like a little baby now instead of a blur of cells. Dr. B was there today and it was so nice to see her. I stop taking progesterone shots and estrogen pills tomorrow, and I’m a bit nervous about that, but I trust my doctor. She said the placenta takes over at 8 weeks, so I’ve had two weeks of cushion of extra progesterone. (That could be why I’m extremely tired these past two weeks). It’s still a bit nerve-wracking, but I know Dr. B knows what she’s doing.

And now we’ve “graduated” from the clinic. They gave us a “baby’s first photo” card and a cute little baby toy (one of those bear heads with a blanket for a body). I gave everyone a hug and they all want to see belly pictures and then meet the little baby. Dr. B says I’ll just have one of those cute basketball bellies. 😉

I also had bloodwork today for screening of chromosomal abnormalities like Down Syndrome. Everyone is at risk no matter what, but luckily we’re low risk because I’m young. Those results will come back in a week or 10 days and in the meantime, I’ll try not to panic. The screening can determine the sex of the baby, but we decided we do not want to know. If we do want to know, we’ll find out on later ultrasound. But, right now, it’s too early, in our opinion.

We’re 1/4 of the way through. Just a few more weeks until we’re out of the first trimester. Keep growing little baby. You’re doing great. I’m going to keep doing what I’m doing: eating as well as I can. Sleeping. Running a bit (and adding just a few miles to my week). Drinking a tiny bit of caffeine. Drinking lots of water. Not doing anything crazy. I still need to get winter running sneakers. Tomorrow, hopefully. Hooray for a long weekend and happy news. However, I have a few hours to work today since I am so exhausted in the mornings that I cannot get here early at all. I’ve been working 9-6 or so. Oh well. Late hours are worth it for good news!

Leave a Reply

