14 weeks, 5 days

14 weeks, 5 days

14 weeks, 5 days. February 2, 2017.

Groundhog Day! And the groundhog saw his shadow. At least this week actually feels like winter-ish. I’ve had some winter days of negative actual temperatures, so these days of 20-something degrees are pretty warm. It’s looking like some good snow for easy xc skiing (we’ve been waiting for snow!) this weekend.

I’m feeling much better! No head or face aches today. I haven’t had to blow my nose yet today. However, I overslept. I couldn’t fall asleep until after 1:30am. I’m just uncomfortable at night and it takes a while to figure out how to fall asleep. But then I sleep pretty soundly, generally speaking. I slept until 8:30, because I am an expert at turning off my alarm while I sleep. Good thing my job doesn’t depend on me being punctual. Of course, now I have to work super late, but whatever. At least I have that option.

However, I’ve been pondering a few things. I’m just not exercising enough. I haven’t run in one week. I’ve barely exercised this week. And it was fine while I was sick, but now I’m restless again. Fortunately, I have a sit-to-stand desk at work, so I won’t go completely insane today. But, I need to figure out how to exercise more. Does it mean running almost every day, even if it’s only 2 miles? Most of the time running doesn’t feel great. In that way, maybe I’m just being too easy on myself. It’s so hard to figure it out: am I being a wimp, or am I being smart? I’m not sure. But I’m definitely getting restless these days. AND, coming full circle, that is probably why I cannot sleep. And I feel a bit lost without my running. Like, clearly, a part of me is missing. Sigh. This is the least I’ve ever run. Other exercise just doesn’t cut it for me. Maybe I should just try running more, and not giving up. Run/walk is better than no run at all. Any advice?

5 thoughts on “14 weeks, 5 days

  1. Glad you’re feeling better! I am no expert but I think do what feels right. If that’s a run/walk combo then great. Or maybe just do some really fast walking. Anything to get the blood pumping!

    Like

      1. Sounds pretty good to me. I gave up running a year ago on recommendation of my acupuncture guy so I am jealous. I took myself for a 5km walk last night – my first in ages due to being so damned ill – and it was so hard!!! I think I had low blood sugar as it was in the evening after work but still! I kept muttering to myself that I used to run marathons. Hahaha! Goodbye old body. It kind of makes me sad and then I tell myself that there will be time later to get fit.

        Like

      2. No running, yikes! I dropped my mileage dramatically, but fortunately didn’t have to give it up. Glad you are feeling a bit better and could get out for some fresh air and a walk. Though, I can imagine walking is frustrating if you’re used to running marathons. I feel ya. And true, we can get fit again someday. Just maybe not right now.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It’s been a year since stopping the running so I am kind of ok about it now. I am looking forward to running again at some point in the future though. Until then you can run for both of us!

        Like

Leave a Reply

