35 weeks, 3 days

35 weeks, 3 days

35 weeks, 3 days. June 27, 2017.

4 weeks and 4 days to go! 32 days! In theory, of course. I think she’ll be late. Thanks, baby. I like to tell her to give me time for a few more paychecks and then she can come. One week early would be totally fine by me!

Procrastinating because I don’t want to do a particular project. I have another to do, and it’s due any day now, so I’ll work on that in a bit. First come, first served, after all. I got here before 7:30 this morning, which is pretty awesome. I’ll get to leave before 5:00 if I so choose. I’ll need that time to write my report, so it’s not the end of the world. Maybe I’ll actually get everything done this week that needs to be done. We’ll see.

It’s been a whirlwind lately. I’ll try to catch up.

Home projects: The floor is finished! And the nursery nook, pretty much! S worked hard all week last week to get it done before my family arrived. Hooray. We have some finishing touches to do, and the crib & mattress need to arrive, but things are back in place and everything is looking good at home. It’s such a relief. One way to make your place feel bigger – live in chaos for a while and then put it all back together. So much more space!

34 week appointment: All went well. Heartbeat was good. Baby on track for growth. Nothing earth shattering. We do need to start reading about labor & pain management and all that. Soon. Starting next week, I’ll have appointments every week. I’ve gained 30lbs (maybe more, but I didn’t look too closely, so I’ll stick to 30). No one seems to believe that I did, but I think that’s because it’s mostly in my belly & boobs. However, I can notice some weight on my upper arms and a bit in my face. Whatever. No complaints – or not too many. πŸ˜‰

Family visit: Thank goodness for good weather! We spent the days outside. My mom, dad, and sister A came up to visit and we had a great time. Mom brought a lot of baby clothes that were mine & my sisters’, or even older family members. Very cute. Too bad baby girl would not move for my mom when she put her hands on my belly. She’s been moving nonstop since, however.

Baby shower: So much fun, and so sweet. It was low key & casual (typical for around here, and for that I’m grateful). The girls decorated and planned games and every gave such thoughtful gifts. It was so nice to see my favorite friends, and to have my mom, sister, and M there too. It means so much to me that she wanted to and was able to attend the shower for her baby sister! I feel so loved by all. πŸ™‚

Other: My feet hurt all of the time. Ugh. And, I did go to PT for the literal pain in my butt. It is the piriformis muscle, as I suspected. Pregnancy is partially to blame. Then again, so is my shoe choice and current posture. The doctor said I should wear sneakers. I told him I cannot do that at work (nor would I; I’d look ridiculous). He gave me stretches to do, and I suppose if I do them, I’ll get better. I did schedule other appointments, but I’ve decided to cancel them because I have a $35 copay, and he wants 5 more visits. That’s too much money! I’d rather pay for a massage and save the rest. Now that I know what the problem is, I can deal. Sleeping is difficult because of said muscle and achy feet. It’s only temporary. I’ll live.

I’m wondering when I should take off my rings. My hands are always warm and semi-swollen in the morning. I can get my rings off and on though. But I’d hate for my wedding ring to have to be cut off and ruined. Oddly, the ring on my right ring finger is larger than the one on my left, yet it’s harder to slide off. Hmm.

Nothing else to report. No Braxton Hicks or anything like that. Just random aches & pains & tiredness, of course.

Breastfeeding class: I took one Sunday night. It was sort of helpful. There were some good things in it, but I think I would have been at almost the same knowledge level without taking it. Oh well. It’s at least good to think about it.

Pictures: I’m so behind on including them here, I know!

To-do list: Oh, still the annoying things like make sure my retirement plan is switched over and what not. At least we ordered a crib &Β  mattress. They’ll be here by Monday! Then the nook will really look like a nursery. ❀

3 thoughts on “35 weeks, 3 days

  1. I have given up my rings as of yesterday when I went to put them on for work and it was an effort. Admittedly this coincides with the weather heating up – which I think is a lot to blame – but I decided not to risk getting them jammed on.

    Very happy to hear you also had a beautiful baby shower. You sound a lot more organised now. My colleague who is due August 1 has had her baby engage in the pelvis and her bump has visibly dropped. This can mean something or nothing but it did make me think maybe it’s time to get packing those bags. πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

    1. Ha, yes, a bit more organized now. πŸ˜‰ I’m thinking maybe I’ll get a cheap silicone ring to wear for these last few weeks. I’m used to wearing a ring now, and I love it. And we both should pack our bags…indeed.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

