39 weeks, 2 days

39 weeks, 2 days

39 weeks, 2 days. July 24, 2017.

Baby is still quite comfortable. I, on the other hand, am not. Mostly it’s due to the sciatic nerve, which will not stretch and loosen no matter what I do. It makes walking particularly difficult and painful and slow, and I look extra pregnant. Pretty much nothing is comfortable these days. I wake up every 2 hours at night (good practice, I know) and then I am actually disappointed when it’s 2am and I have to figure out how to get comfortable again to fall back asleep. Yup, super pregnant!

Nothing to report, really. No signs of baby’s arrival. Randomly, I have some stomach pains, and I have lots of long, BH, but nothing that screams “baby is coming!” Come on kid, any day now! Please don’t make me more than a few days overdue. Maybe it’s just me, but I think knowing the exact dates for IVF should make my due date more accurate than others. Maybe a lot of people just have inaccurate due dates? That’s what I’m telling myself anyway. If we didn’t have to do IVF, I probably wouldn’t have any idea as to when baby was conceived.

Saturday we went on a day trip and because we’d be a few hours away we brought the car seat and hospital bags just in case. They were not needed, obviously. At least they are in my car now. It was nice to drive around on a sunny day, even if I couldn’t do much walking. It’s very annoying not being mobile! Saturday night-Sunday morning we slept 12 hours. No joke. Apparently we were both very tired – S from a stressful week, and me from lugging around this pumpkin of a belly! And then I took a nap on Sunday afternoon. M and her boyfriend came over for a barbecue at the waterfront on Sunday evening, which was lots of fun. But, after some walking, I could barely put any weight on the right side of my body. Ouch.

Today, work hosted a potluck baby brunch for me, which was quite sweet. There is a range of guesses to baby’s due date. I’ll add the photo. And a few people gave us presents – how thoughtful! Although I tire of the cubicle life, the company and the people are superb and I never have complaints about either. (And the medical benefits are excellent.)

What’s left to do? Rest, I suppose. Keep stretching. And wrap up a few things at work. I read that the end of pregnancy is supposed to be very uncomfortable so your body just wants to go into labor and you’re not afraid anymore. Ha, I believe it! I wish baby would arrive sometime this week, because that would make it easier for my work schedule. But, I know that’s not how it works. We’ll see if this kid is a planner or not. I joked that she just wanted to have one more party (the baby brunch). Who doesn’t love a party?

5 thoughts on “39 weeks, 2 days

    1. Yes, time is so slow! I’ve thought that this entire pregnancy. Part of that is because I worry and I want to get to the end and have everything be fine. (I think IVF makes you worry more than non-IVF. I’m not sure.) My doctor suggested trying to keep things normal, doing normal activities rather than counting the days. For much of the pregnancy I would list what I was looking forward to each week, whether it was a doctor’s appointment or a visit from my family or even a day trip or a night with friends. It worked for a while, but the last 2 weeks are just dragging by. Good luck to you! I know in the grand scheme of things, a few weeks is nothing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

