40 weeks, 2 days

40 weeks, 2 days

40 weeks, 2 days. July 31, 2017.

Still pregnant. I’m trying to be calm and relaxed, but it’s hard to think about anything else. I’m afraid of being too overdue for a few reasons: 1) I don’t want to be induced; 2) I don’t want baby to be too big; 3) I don’t want to get close to 42 weeks because there are more risks to baby; and 4) I don’t want to be super crabby for 2 weeks.

I understand that baby will come when baby wants, but what if she’s just too lazy!? And shouldn’t my dates be accurate because of IVF? I’m annoyed. And I’m annoyed that everyone was right about first babies being late. I’m also a bit  jealous of everyone around me who has had her baby already. I mean, I’m happy for everyone; I’m just jealous. Also, I’m tired of being so heavy and it hurting to walk. It’s also hard to plan out work to do when I have no idea when I’ll be leaving. Why is baby taking so long? Why isn’t she ready yet? Am I doing something wrong? And why doesn’t the doctor want to see me until Friday? Ugh. I’m just done being pregnant. I want baby to arrive so I know she’s healthy.

Sigh. So, that’s where I am. I’m still working so I can at least make some money, though my billable ratio isn’t great right now. But, another paycheck is good. And I enjoy eating lots of ice cream. However, I’m beyond the “cute pregnant” phase now. Now I just see fat, other than the baby belly.

Alright, that’s all my complaining. S is being very good about it and helping to keep me calm. Yesterday we went to the beach (well, lakeshore) and played frisbee in the water and barbecued. He said he likes these days of just waiting, doing nothing, and we’ll look back on it fondly. Perhaps he’s right, but I’m still impatient.

Tomorrow morning I have acupuncture, so maybe that will move things along. My guess was August 1 and I did say I thought she’d be a late baby, but for some reason I’m still annoyed. My mom said to calm down so I don’t end up with a crabby baby. I don’t know if that’s true, but it’s probably worth considering.

Overall, I guess I feel fine. I mean, what’s fine these days anyway? Various body parts hurt. I sometimes feel some uterus cramping, but nothing long and nothing painful. Braxton Hicks do not hurt. The only new sign of something is the occasional sharp pain in my vagina. It happened a few times yesterday, but that’s it. We also did a lot of walking Saturday & Sunday (well, it’s relative. About 3 miles of walking each day). My sciatic nerve hurts, but not as much today.

Sigh. I know baby will be here soon and in the grand scheme of things, a day or a week is nothing. But that doesn’t change how I feel right now.

And a profile image so you can see just how pregnant I am, taken yesterday at 40 weeks, 1 day. 

6 thoughts on “40 weeks, 2 days

  1. You look phenomenal by any standards and certainly by 40 weeks. In the case you are induced have a think about how you want to deal with pain management so that you’re ahead of the curve.
    Also, don’t feel jealous of me with my baby already as I’m really struggling and would like a day of swimming and frisbee!! Hoping for some good news for you very soon. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

